Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Lake of Two-Mountains « Wednesday nights series » 2009

Oh, how we have been pining for racing news from L2M. Thank goodness for super reports like the Etchells regatta, but we want more! Now, we get to hear from Pierre Marois who has given us such great reports in the past. He's back! Here is  the final race and cumulative points record for the L2M Championship Series. Now we have an idea of who the Top Dawgs of L2M are for this season. Congratulations Pierre on winning in PHRF 3, and wow, check out the numbers of Tanzer 22s racing! Clearly, T22s are the largest fleet racing there. Doing miserably without my old T22, and not yet doing the Shark justice I am now very wistful! Archival photos from HYC website of Ken Hodgson's and Ross Tellier's boats - Ralph Stocek, Montreal Sailing

Race 6 – July 8th

For this, the last race of the LTM Wednesday night series, the HYC race committee (Ron Harris and John Marten along with HYC bosun Patrick O’Brien) chose to set their course in between Parsons Pt. and the Oka Ferry. The wind was from the East at 8 to10 knots but lightened throughout the race. The conditions were very challenging with major windshifts happening on both side of the course near shore (sometimes simultaneously!)

In the PHRF3 fleet, the Tanzer 22’s dominated the race. T22 Class stalwarts Chris Campbell’s Shigawac, Gene Leier’s SunTanz and Ken Barrieau’s Charisma had great starts and were near the lead at the first mark. Racing was close between the top 10 boats, all T-22’s! Reading the shifts was a big part of the second upwind leg and Shigawac and Patrice Delhaes’s Turbo did the best job to separate themselves from the rest of the fleet. They match-raced to the finish; Turbo getting in first a mere 8 second in front of Shigawac. Behind them, 13 seconds separated the next 3 boats! Pierre Marois’s Coquine was third, Ken Hodgson’s Sloop du Jour fourth and SunTanz fifth. Coquine’s third place was enough to secure the fleet championships in front of Michael Laventure’s Knot a Clew and Annie Baribeau’s Tohu Bohu. There were 20 Tanzer 22 in the 24 boats fleet!

In the PHRF 2 fleet, the Niagara 26’s led the way! David Godin’s Wotan and Ross Tellier’s Red Coat had a match-race of their own for the fleet championships. Red Coat’s last race victory  was not enough to close the point gap on Wotan who won the fleet championships by finishing second in the last race.  11 boats participated in the series, 7 of them were Niagara 26!

In the PHRF 1-B fleet, the J Boats (22 and 24) were out in force! We had different race winner in each race and in the end Ron Harris’ J22 Jazz took the fleet championship by half a point over Bernard LeDuc’s J22 Springbok  with last race winner Lee Grant’s J24 Peacemaker in third.

In the PHRF 1-A fleet, the HYC Etchells were again in a class by themselves, Scott Lawrence’s Quill winning the last race to secure the fleet championship over Allan Gray’s Slim and Paul Laflamme’s Still Lost Boys.
A total of 51 boats participated in the 6 races serie. Here are the overall results;

PHRF 1-A (7 boats)
1-    Quill, Etchells, Scott Lawrence, HYC, 5 points
2-    Slim, Etchells, Allan Gray, HYC, 6 points
3-    Still Lost Boys, Etchells, Paul Laflamme, HYC, 9 points

PHRF 1-B (9 boats)
1-    Jazz, J22, Ron Harris, HYC, 4.5 points
2-    Sringbok, J22, Bernard LeDuc, HYC, 5 points
3-    Peacemaker, J24, Lee Grant, HYC, 7.5 points

PHRF 2 (11 boats)
1-    Wotan, Niagara 26, David Godin, CNDM, 12 points
2-    Red Coat, Niagara 26, Ross Tellier, HYC, 16 points
3-    Farouch, Niagara 26,  Daniel Castonguay, CVL, 19 points

PHRF 3 (24 boats)
1-    Coquine, Tanzer 22, Pierre Marois, CVL, 5 points
2-    Knot a Clew, Tanzer 22, Michael Laventure, HYC, 12 points
3-    Tohu Bohu, Tanzer 22, Annie Baribeau, CVL, 16 points 

Go to the Hudson Yacht Club website for the complete results.